Standards and Statements from Professional Organizations
- ACRL's Diversity Standards: Cultural Competency for Academic Libraries (2012)"Standard 9. Cross-cultural leadership
Library leaders shall influence, support, and encourage the creation of proactive processes that increase diversity skills; empower colleagues, co-workers, and constituents from diverse backgrounds; share information about diverse populations; and advocate for their concerns." - ALA's Equity, Diversity, Inclusion: An Interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights"To ensure that every individual will feel truly welcomed and included, library staff and administrators should reflect the origins, age, background, and views of their community. Governing bodies should also reflect the community. Library spaces, programs, and collections should accommodate the needs of every user."
- Association of Specialized Government and Cooperative Library Associations' ResourcesThis includes links to accessibility toolkits for numerous types of disabilities.
Articles
- Gilbert, Julie. “Heroes and Holidays: The Status of Diversity Initiatives at Liberal Arts College Libraries.” College & Research Libraries 77, no. 4 (2016): 520-535.This study looks at diversity initiatives at national liberal arts college libraries and finds that diversity work has not been systematically prioritized.
- Hudson-Ward, Alexia. “Eyeing the New Diversity: An Emerging Paradigm for Recruitment and Retention.” American Libraries 45, Issue 7-8 (Jul/Aug 2014): 32-35.This article discusses generational and value-based diversity, particularly in academic and public libraries.
- Larsen, Sarah E. “Diversity in Public Libraries: Strategies for Achieving a More Representative Workforce.” Public Libraries Online (May/June 2017).This article provides managers with ideas for improving hiring practices, providing diversity training and mentoring/support, and assessing diversity.
- Winston, Mark D., and Haipeng Li. “Managing Diversity in Liberal Arts College Libraries.” College & Research Libraries 61, no. 3 (May 2000); 205-215.This somewhat dated article gathers data about programs about “diversity awareness, staffing, information services, and library collections.”
Courses/Webinars
Library Juice Academy
- “Examining Institutional Racism in Libraries.” Instructors Angela Pashia and C.J. Ivory. https://libraryjuiceacademy.com/193-institutional-racism.php. Not currently scheduled, but potentially available for special sessions.
- “Recruiting and Retaining Librarians from Underrepresented Minoritized Groups.” Instructor Angela Pashia. https://libraryjuiceacademy.com/211-recruitment-retention.php. Offered in November 2019.
- “Reimagining Workplace Empowerment: Reducing Low Morale for Racial & Ethnic Minority Librarians.” Instructor Kaetrena Davis Kendrick. https://libraryjuiceacademy.com/229-reimagining-empowerment.php. Offered in May 2020.
American Library Association, Office for Diversity, Literacy & Outreach Services
- “Equity, Diversity, Inclusion & ALA: An Equitable Future for Libraries and the Profession.” http://www.ala.org/educationcareers/equity-diversity-inclusion-ala-equitable-future-libraries-and-profession.
Infopeople
- “CELEBRATE. SERVE. COLLABORATE: Partnership as a strategy for immigrant engagement.” https://infopeople.org/civicrm/event/info?id=844&reset=1.
- “Implicit Bias in the Library Workplace.” https://infopeople.org/civicrm/event/info?id=807&reset=1.
University of Michigan iSchool
-
"Managing a Diverse and Inclusive Workplace for Public Libraries." https://www.edx.org/course/managing-a-diverse-and-inclusive-workplace-for-public-libraries-2 This is a MOOC course developed by the University of Michigan iSchool. It is therefore online and free unless a certificate is sought ($49). It is a four week course with estimated 3-4 hours a week of effort. Learn management skills to support workplace diversity and inclusion in a public library setting.
Blogs/Websites
- Library Journal Diversity and Cultural Literacy ToolkitThis is a list of links to other websites, articles, videos, and other resources about cultural literacy, diversity in publishing, intersectionality, implicit bias, stereotypes, language, etc. It links to some very useful material.
- Ethnic & Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table Resources and BibliographiesThis is a useful list of links related to diversity in libraries, including bibliographies and resources for multicultural literature, blogs/social media pages, book awards and collections, and related topics.
- Recruiting For DiversityThis page from ALA's Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services provides advice on increasing the diversity of the library workforce through both short-term and long-term strategies.
- School Librarian LeadershipThis blog includes many entries relating to diversity, equity, and social justice in school libraries.
Books
Diversity and Inclusion in Libraries by ISBN: 9781538114391Publication Date: 2019-07-24This book has three sections: 1) Why Diversity and Inclusion Matter; 2) Equipping the Library Staff, and 3) Voices from the Field.
Managing Multiculturalism and Diversity in the Library by ISBN: 9780789006929Publication Date: 1999-07-02
How-tos
Building a Diversity Plan
- ALA's Building a Diversity Plan - Strategic Planning for Diversity. http://www.ala.org/advocacy/diversity/workplace/diversityplanning
- Sample Diversity Plans:
- Salisbury University Libraries Diversity and Inclusion Plan: https://www.salisbury.edu/libraries/about/plans/diversity-inclusion-plan.aspx
- Towson University Library Diversity Plan: https://libraries.towson.edu/about/diversity-plan
- Iowa State University Libraries Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Plan: https://www.lib.iastate.edu/about-library/library-diversity
- Social Justice at the Seattle Public Library: https://www.spl.org/programs-and-services/social-justice
- Diversity at the UGA Libraries: https://www.libs.uga.edu/diversity
- The Inclusive Services Assessment and GuideProvides resources for assessing how equitable your library is both internally and externally. From Wisconsin Public Library.
- The GroundWater Approach: building a practical understanding of structural racismThis paper was developed to be used as a tool to deepen both individual understanding of the need for systemic change, as well as a tool for facilitated group learning and development.