This section asks for information regarding your library system's print and electronic collections, including physical items, e-books, and electronic resources.
457 - State Purchased Databases has been pre-filled for you.
Q: How do I count resources such as Hoopla, Kanopy, Freegal, or other streaming or otherwise non-traditional collections?
A: Use the Electronic Resources Flowchart - The "What goes where" flowchart for data elements covering electronic collections, electronic resources, and successful retrieval of electronic information.
Section 4b - Library Collection
This section of the survey (450 – 462) collects data on selected types of materials. It does not cover all materials (i.e., microform, scores, maps, and pictures) for which expenditures are reported under 353, 354, and 355. Under this category report only items the library has acquired as part of the collection and cataloged, whether purchased, leased, licensed, or donated as gifts that have been purchased, leased or licensed by the library, a consortium, the state library, a donor, or other person or entity. Included items must only be accessible with a valid library card or at a physical library location; inclusion in the catalog is not required. Do not include items freely available without monetary exchange. Do not include items that are permanently retained by the patron; count only items that have a set circulation period where it is available for their use. Count electronic materials at the administrative entity level; do not duplicate numbers at each branch.
| Question Number | Question Title | Question Explanation |
|---|---|---|
| 450 | Print Materials |
Report a single figure that includes the following: Books in print. Books are non-serial printed publications (including music scores or other bound forms of printed music, and maps) that are bound in hard or soft covers, or in loose-leaf format. Do not include unbound sheet music. Include non-serial government documents. Report the number of the physical units, including duplicates. For smaller libraries, if volume data are not available, count the number of titles. Books packaged together as a unit (e.g., a 2-volume set) and checked out as a unit are counted as one physical unit. Include uncatalogued books. |
| 451 | Electronic Books (e-books) |
E-books are digital documents (including those digitized by the library), licensed or not, where searchable text is prevalent, and which can be seen in analogy to a printed book (monograph). E-books are loaned to users on portable devices (e-book readers, etc.) or by transmitting the contents to the user's personal device for a limited time. Include e-books held locally and remote e-books for which permanent or temporary access rights have been acquired. Report the number of electronic units, including duplicates, at the administrative entity level; do not duplicate unit count for each branch. E-books packaged together as a unit (e.g., multiple titles on a single e-book reader) and checked out as a unit are counted as one unit. Report the number of units. Report only items that have been purchased, leased or licensed by the library, a consortium, the state library, a donor or other person or entity. Included items must only be accessible with a valid library card or at a physical library location; inclusion in the catalog is not required. Do not include items freely available without monetary exchange. Do not include items that are permanently retained by the patron; count only items that have a set circulation period where it is available for their use. Count electronic materials at the administrative entity level; do not duplicate numbers at each branch. Note: For purposes of this survey, units are defined as 'units of acquisition or purchase'. The 'unit' is determined by considering whether the item is restricted to a finite number of simultaneous users or an unlimited number of simultaneous users. Finite simultaneous use: units of acquisition or purchase is based on the number of simultaneous usages acquired (equivalent to purchasing multiple copies of a single title). For example, if a library acquires a title with rights to a single user at a time, then that item is counted as 1 'unit'; if the library acquires rights to a single title for 10 simultaneous users, then that item is counted as 10 'units'. For smaller libraries, if volume data are not available, the number of titles may be counted. Unlimited simultaneous use: units of acquisition or purchase is based on the number of titles acquired. For example, if a library acquires a collection of 100 books with unlimited simultaneous users, then that collection would be counted as 100 'units'. |
| 452 | Audio - physical units |
These are materials circulated in a fixed, physical format on which sounds (only) are stored (recorded) and that can be reproduced (played back) mechanically, electronically, or both. Include records, audiocassettes, audio cartridges, audio discs, audio- reels, talking books, and other sound recording stored in a fixed, physical format. Do not include downloadable electronic files. Report the number of units, including duplicates. Items packaged together as a unit (e.g., 2 audiocassettes for one recorded book) and checked out as a unit are counted as one physical unit. |
| 453 | Audio - downloadable units |
These are downloadable electronic files on which sounds (only) are stored (recorded) and that can be reproduced (played back) electronically. Audio - Downloadable Units may be loaned to users on portable devices or by transmitting the contents to the user's personal device for a limited time. Include Audio - Downloadable Units held locally and remote Audio - Downloadable Units for which permanent or temporary access rights have been acquired. Report the number of units. Report only items that have been purchased, leased or licensed by the library, a consortium, the state library, a donor or other person or entity. Included items must only be accessible with a valid library card or at a physical library location; inclusion in the catalog is not required. Do not include items freely available without monetary exchange. Do not include items that are permanently retained by the patron; count only items that have a set circulation period where it is available for their use. Count electronic materials at the administrative entity level; do not duplicate numbers at each branch. Note: For purposes of this survey, units are defined as 'units of acquisition or purchase'. The 'unit' is determined by considering whether the item is restricted to a finite number of simultaneous users or an unlimited number of simultaneous users. Finite simultaneous use: units of acquisition or purchase is based on the number of simultaneous usages acquired (equivalent to purchasing multiple copies of a single title). For example, if a library acquires a title with rights to a single user at a time, then that item is counted as 1 'unit'; if the library acquires rights to a single title for 10 simultaneous users, then that item is counted as 10 'units'. For smaller libraries, if volume data are not available, the number of titles may be counted. Unlimited simultaneous use: units of acquisition or purchase is based on the number of titles acquired. For example, if a library acquires a collection of 100 books with unlimited simultaneous users, then that collection would be counted as 100 'units'. |
| 454 | Video - physical units |
These are materials circulated in a fixed, physical format on which moving pictures are recorded, with or without sound. Electronic playback reproduces pictures, with or without sound, using a television receiver or computer monitor. Video formats may include tape, DVD, and CD-ROM. Do not include downloadable electronic video files. Report the number of units, including duplicates. Items packaged together as a unit (e.g., 2 DVDs for one movie) and checked out as a unit are counted as one physical unit. |
| 455 | Video - downloadable units | These are downloadable electronic files on which moving pictures are recorded, with or without sound. Electronic playback reproduces pictures, with or without sound, using a television receiver, computer monitor, or video-enabled mobile device. Video - Downloadable Units
may be loaned to users on portable devices or by transmitting the contents to the user's personal device for a limited time. Include Video - Downloadable Units held locally and remote Video - Downloadable Units for which permanent or temporary access rights have been acquired. Report only items that have been purchased, leased or licensed by the library, a consortium, the state library, a donor or other person or entity. Included items must only be accessible with a valid library card or at a physical library location; inclusion in the catalog is not required. Do not include items freely available without monetary exchange. Do not include items that are permanently retained by the patron; count only items that have a set circulation period where it is available for their use. Count electronic materials at the administrative entity level; do not duplicate numbers at each branch. Note: For purposes of this survey, units are defined as 'units of acquisition or purchase'. The 'unit' is determined by considering whether the item is restricted to a finite number of simultaneous users or an unlimited number of simultaneous users. Finite simultaneous use: units of acquisition or purchase is based on the number of simultaneous usages acquired (equivalent to purchasing multiple copies of a single title). For example, if a library acquires a title with rights to a single user at a time, then that item is counted as 1 'unit'; if the library acquires rights to a single title for 10 simultaneous users, then that item is counted as 10 'units'. For smaller libraries, if volume data are not available, the number of titles may be counted. Unlimited simultaneous use: units of acquisition or purchase is based on the number of titles acquired. For example, if a library acquires a collection of 100 books with unlimited simultaneous users, then that collection would be counted as 100 'units'. |
Electronic Collections
Report the number of electronic collections. An electronic collection is a collection of electronically stored data or unit records (facts, bibliographic data, abstracts, texts, photographs, music, video, etc.) with a common user interface and software for the retrieval and use of the data. An electronic collection may be organized, curated and electronically shared by the library, or rights may be provided by a third-party vendor. An electronic collection may be funded by the library, or provided through cooperative agreement with other libraries, or through the State Library. Do not include electronic collections that are provided by third parties and feely linked to on the Web.
Electronic Collections do not have a circulation period and may be retained by the patron. Remote access to the collection may or may not require authentication. Unit records may or may not be included in the library's catalog; the library may or may not select individual titles. Include electronic collections that are available online or are locally hosted in the library.
Note: The data or records are usually collected with a particular intent and relate to a defined topic.
Report the number of electronic collections acquired through curation, payment, or formal agreement, by source of access:
| Question Number | Question Title | Question Explanation |
|---|---|---|
| 456 | Local/Regional/Other Cooperative Agreements | |
| 457* | State Purchased | This number will be provided by the state data coordinator. |
| 458 | Total Electronic Collections | 456 + 457 |
Current Print Serial Subscriptions
Current serial subscriptions are arrangements by which, in return for a sum paid in advance, serials are provided for a specified number of issues. Include current serial subscriptions in print.
| Question Number | Question Title | Question Explanation |
|---|---|---|
| 460 | Current Print Serial Subscriptions | Report the number of current print serial subscriptions, including duplicates, for all outlets. Examples of serials are periodicals (magazines), newspapers, annuals, some government documents, some reference tools, and numbered monographic series. |
| 461 | Total Physical Items in Collection |
All circulating physical items in the collection. These are materials in a fixed, physical format available for use outside the library. This includes Print Materials (data element 450), Audio - physical units (data element 452), Video - physical units (data element 454), and Other Circulating Physical Items (data element 462). Report the number of units, including duplicates. Items packaged together as a unit (such as a set of cookie cutters) and checked out as a unit are counted as one physical unit. |
| 462 | Other Circulating Physical Items |
Report a single figure that includes the following: all circulating physical items other than print books (data element 450), physical audio units (data element 452), physical video units (data element 454), and serials. These are materials in a fixed, physical format available for use outside the library. These can include a variety of items types, such as wi-fi hotspots, Chromebooks, sewing machines, cake pans, tools, etc. Report the number of units, including duplicates. Items packaged together as a unit (such as a set of cookie cutters) and checked out as a unit are counted as one physical unit. |
* Number will be prefilled by state data coordinator.
